Internet scams

scam1If we are to add up all the money we have received from various sources so far, we must be super, super rich by now. We’ve been approached, via our email address, by:

  • a lot of rich people from Nigeria, telling us about how they are being persecuted in their country and promising us millions of dollars if they could deposit their money to our bank account;
  • lottery companies from the UK and Spain, informing us about our prize winnings despite us having bought no single ticket at all;
  • hedge fund managers from all over the world, offering us to share their profits with us.

The list goes on and on. But a caveat in all these letters, though, is this: We will only receive the promised money if we shell out a certain amount of cash to cover “administrative costs”.

We need not say that these are nothing but scams. Unfortunately, there are people who still end up being victims of these criminal syndicates. ,0And if you think that only people from poor countries are victimized, think again. Those who have been taken for a ride  come from all over the world, and from all walks of life.

You might have run into this sort of emails and wondered how these scammers managed to get hold of your email address. Click here to know how they do it. But one rich source of email addresses is all those chain letters we keep on sending to friends without using the BCC option of the mail program we are using to hide ours and their addresses.

So next time you receive such letter in the future, just ignore them and click the Spam button to ban them (or at least that particular sender) from using your email address again. And next time you give out your address online, use the following format to avoid being detected by automatic email “harvester”: ldhs78[at]gmail[dot]com.

To give you an idea how a swindler “sounds” like, here’s an unedited sample letter from one Gloria Jane-Ansell who is offering us £10,000,000:

GLORIA-JANE ANSELL
156-664 Wide Marsh Street
Hereford, England
HR4 9 United Kingdom

Here writes Madam Gloria-Jane Ansell, suffering from cancerous ailment. I was married to Sir Robert an Englishman who is dead. My husband was into private practice all his life before his death. Our life together as man and wife lasted for three decades without a child. My husband died after a protracted illness. My husband and I made a vow to uplift the down-trodden and the less-privileged individuals as he had passion for persons who can not help themselves due to physical disability or financial predicament.

I can adduce this to the fact that he needed a Child from this relationship, which never came.

When my late husband was alive he deposited the sum of Ten Million Pounds (10,000,000.00 Million Great Britain Pounds Sterling) which were derived from his vast estates and investment in capital market with his bank here in UK.  Presently, this money is still with the Bank. Recently, my Doctor told me that I have limited days to live due to the cancerous problems I am suffering from.

Though what bothers me most is the stroke that I have in addition to the cancer. With this hard reality that has befallen my family, and me I have decided to donate this fund to you and want you to use this gift which comes from my husbands effort to fund the upkeep of widows, widowers, orphans, destitute, the down-trodden, physically challenged children, barren-women and persons who prove to be genuinely handicapped financially.

I have decided to donate this fund to you, I do hope you would be able to utilize this money for the said purpose just as Im going to instruct herein. I want you to utilize the funds by creating a charity foundation called “ANSELL FOUNDATION” to assist widows and help accident victims worldwide.

I took this decision because my husband’s relatives are Trouble makers and I don’t want my husband’s efforts to be used for trivialities do not want a situation where my husband’s sweat will be used in material pursuits.

This is why I am taking this decision.Moreso because I do not have any child that will inherit this money and my husband relatives are bourgeois and very wealthy persons and Ido not want my husband hard earned money to  be misused or invested into ill perceived ventures. I do not want this money to be misused hence the reason for taking this bold decision. I am not afraid of death hence I know where I am going. I do not need any telephone communication in this regard due to my deteriorating health and because of the presence of my husband relatives around me. I do not want them to know about this development.

I cannot give this fund to anybody here in England because my Husband relatives have people in high places and will frustrate all attempts within this country. More so they do not know about this Ten Million Pounds sterling deposit that my husband made. Presently, this deposit is  known by me, our family lawyer and now you.

Contact our family lawyer with this specified email address

Barrister Timothy Martins (ESQ)
Email:  timothy4martins@hotmail.co.uk

Tell him that I have WILLED £10,000,000 to you by quoting my personal reference number Law/chamber/solicitors/grl/asl/WILL/87633 and I have also notified him that I am WILLING that amount to you for a specific and good work.

NB: I will appreciate your utmost confidentiality in this matter until the task is accomplished as I don’t want anything that will jeopardize my last wish. And Also I will be contacting with you by email as I don’t want my relation or anybody to know because they are always around me.

Any delay in your reply will give me room in sourcing another person for this same purpose. Please i need assurance from you that you will act accordingly as I have stated herein.

My lawyer would be waiting to receive your reply, on his E-mail address timothy4martins@hotmail.co.uk

Remain blessed.

Your Sister,
Madam. Gloria-Jane Ansell

One thought on “Internet scams

  1. Gina Ambrosio

    thanks for publishing this. i also regularly receive this kind of emails and just ignore them. but a friend of mine (who is based in germany) recently received an email from another friend who is connected with a non-government organization in manila. the friend was frantically asking him to send money to her via western union. in the email she said she was passing by london and was robbed of all her valuables, including her wallet containing all her cash, bank cards, etc. what my friend did was to inform some people about it before sending some cash. fortunately, somebody advised him to get in touch with other people in the philippines because there had been similar cases in the past that turned out to be a hoax.. eventually, he would find out that the letter sender was not his friend but somebody else who was attempting to defraud him. these swindlers are really becoming very creative, and dangerous.

Leave a Reply

